Tuesday, August 16, 2016

DASH-IF Academic Track

The MPEG-DASH standard has raised a huge momentum within both industry and academia. The DASH-IF provides – among others – interoperability guidelines and test vectors and closes the gap enabling interoperable deployments. In recent years, we have seen a tremendous amount of research papers addressing various issues in and around DASH and, thus, the DASH-IF establishes an academic track to:
  • identify research communities working in the area of DASH
  • create awareness of DASH-IF material and promote it within the academic community, and
  • solicit research within and collect results from the academic community
As a first step the DASH-IF created the “Excellence in DASH Award” at ACM MMSys 2016 and is proud to announce the result as follows. The excellence in DASH award was selected by members of the DASH-IF and instead of a first, second, and third place the DASH-IF concluded to give the first price to all three papers which are as follows: “ABMA+: lightweight and efficient algorithm for HTTP adaptive streaming” by Andrzej Beben, Piotr Wiśniewski, Jordi Mongay Batalla, Piotr Krawiec (Warsaw University of Technology, Poland ); “Delivering Stable High-Quality Video: An SDN Architecture with DASH Assisting Network Elements” by Jan Willem Martin Kleinrouweler, Sergio Cabrero, Pablo Cesar (Centrum Wiskunde & Informatica, Netherlands); and “SQUAD: A Spectrum-based Quality Adaptation for Dynamic Adaptive Streaming over HTTP” by Cong Wang, Amr Rizk, Michael Zink (University of Massachusetts Amherst, USA). (see pictures here).

For academics who want to join the DASH-IF Academic Track, please subscribe to the public email reflector dashifat@lists.aau.at via https://lists.aau.at/mailman/listinfo/dashifat.

Everyone is welcome - let's do something! For any comments or questions, please let me know.

Another related activity was the IEEE ICME 2016 Bitmovin Grand Challenge on DASH which is summarized below. We'd like to thank all authors who have submitted their work to the grand challenge and we'd like to congratulate the winner team!

No comments: