Monday, November 10, 2008

International Symposium on Multimedia over Wireless - ISMW 2009

Co-located with the Int'l Wireless Communications and Mobile Computing Conference (IWCMC2009)
June 21-24, 2009 in Leipzig, Germany

One of the key elements in the convergence of future networks and services to IP technology is the efficient support of rich multimedia applications and services over wireless networks including sensor and mesh networks. The delivery and transport of multimedia in such wireless environments, to heterogeneous mobiles and users, is very challenging. The multimedia services should face many shortcomings caused mainly by the wireless channel unreliability and its sharing among many users, limited bandwidth, random time-varying fading effect, different protocols and standards, etc. Future multimedia services require innovation and advances in better MAC and routing protocols, session establishment and signaling architectures, cross-layer interaction and optimization, QoS provisioning and continuity, adaptive transmission techniques, and scalability support, among others.

The purpose of this symposium is to solicit high-quality theoretical and practical research on the landscape of recent advances on multimedia over wireless.

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to

  • Architectures for wireless multimedia communications
  • Multimedia over Cognitive Radio Networks
  • Multimedia delivery over various types of wireless networks (3G, 4G, ad hoc networks/relay, WLAN, WMAN, multi-hop wireless, and hybrid networks)
  • Wireless video sensor networks
  • Multimedia over wireless peer-to-peer (P2P) network
  • Multimedia delivery for broadband vehicular networks
  • QoS support for wireless multimedia networks
  • Multimedia delivery over wireless embedded devices
  • Scalable multimedia delivery over wireless
  • Multimodal multimedia services
  • Error resilience and concealment
  • Joint source-channel coding and adaptive media delivery
  • Cross-layer optimizations and interactions
  • Interaction among (MAC), radio link control (RLC), IP and application layers
  • Wireless multimedia terminal and devices
  • Wireless multimedia traffic modeling
  • Multimedia delivery to energy-constrained embedded devices
  • Multimedia over wireless testbeds and related research infrastructures and demo
  • QoS signaling and protocols for wireless multimedia
  • Applications, best practices, and standard's support


Toufik Ahmed
University of Bordeaux I, France

Christian Timmerer
Klagenfurt University, Austria

Important Dates

  • Paper Submission Deadline: December 20, 2008
  • Paper Acceptance Notification: March 25, 2009
  • Camera-ready Paper Submissions: April 15, 2009
  • Registration Deadline for Authors: April 15, 2009


Please register and upload your paper via EDAS. All papers are limited to six printed pages, including text, figures and references, and must be written in English and follow the standard IEEE double-column format. The font size must be at least 10 points. All submitted papers would be judged based on their quality through a double peer-reviewing process. Accepted papers will be published in the Conference Proceedings of IWCMC2009, which will be included in ACM/IEEE Digital Library (pending approval). Selected papers will be further considered for possible publication in a special issue of the Wiley Journal of "Wireless Communications and Mobile Computing (WCMC)," and "International Journal of Autonomous and Adaptive Communications Systems (IJAACS)". There will also be best paper and best symposium awards.


For further details please contact the chairs via chairs-ismw2009(at)itec(dot)uni-klu(dot)ac(dot)at.

Note: Replace (at) by @ and (dot) by . in the above email.

Technical Program Committee

  • Toufik Ahmed, University of Bordeaux I, France
  • Eugen Borcoci, University POLITEHNICA of Bucharest, Romania
  • Cyril Concolato, TELECOM ParisTech France
  • Annie Gravey, INSTITUT TELECOM - TELECOM Bretagne, France
  • Mohsen Guizani, Western Michigan University, USA
  • Zhihai He University, of Missouri-Columbia, USA
  • Hermann Hellwagner, Klagenfurt University, Austria
  • ChingYao Huang, National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan
  • Andreas Hutter, Siemens Corporate Technology, Germany
  • Ebroul Izquierdo, Queen Mary, University of London, UK
  • Harald Kosch, University of Passau, Germany
  • Sastri Kota, Harris Corporation, USA
  • Francine Krief, University of Bordeaux I, France
  • Pascal Lorenz, University of Haute Alsace, France
  • Ahmed Mehaoua, University of Paris - Descartes, France
  • Marta Mrak, University of Surrey, UK
  • Liam Murphy, University College Dublin, Ireland
  • Hamid Nafaa, University College Dublin, Ireland
  • Gabriella Olmo, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
  • George Pavlou, University College London, UK
  • Kostas Pentikousis, VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland, Finland
  • Fabrizio Rovati, STMicroelectronics, Italy
  • Zafer Sahinoglu, Mitsubishi Electric Research Laboratories, USA
  • Harry Skianis, University of the Aegean, Greece
  • Christian Timmerer, Klagenfurt University, Austria

No comments: