Thursday, June 26, 2014

VideoNext: Design, Quality and Deployment of Adaptive Video Streaming

The workshop co-located with CoNEXT 2014
December 2, 2014
Sydney, Australia

Submission deadline changed: August 29, 2014 (no further extensions)

Call for Papers

As we continue to develop our ability to generate, process, and display video at increasingly higher quality, we confront the challenge of streaming the same video to the end user. Device heterogeneity in terms of size and processing capabilities combined with the lack of timing guarantees of packet switching networks is forcing the industry to adopt streaming solutions capable of dynamically adapting the video quality in response to resource variability in the end-to-end transport chain. For example, many vendors and providers are already trialing their own proprietary adaptive video streaming platforms while MPEG has recently ratified a standard, called Dynamic Adaptive Streaming over HTTP (DASH), to facilitate widespread deployment of such technology. However, how to best adapt the video to ensure highest user quality of experience while consuming the minimum network resources poses many fundamental challenges, which is attracting the attention of researchers from both academia and industry. The goal of this workshop is to bring together researchers and developers working on all aspects of adaptive video streaming with special emphasis on innovative concepts backed up by experimental evidence.

Specific areas of interest include, but are not limited to:
  • New metrics for measuring user quality of experience (QoE) for adaptive video streaming
  • Solutions for improving streaming QoE for high-speed user mobility
  • Analysis, modelling, and experimentation of DASH
  • Exploitation of user contexts for improving efficiency of adaptive streaming
  • Big data analytics to assess viewer experience of adaptive video
  • Efficient and fair bandwidth sharing techniques for bottleneck links supporting multiple adaptive video streams
  • Network functions to assist and improve adaptive video streaming
  • Synchronization issues in adaptive video streaming (inter-media, inter-device/destination)
  • Methods for effective simulation or emulation of large scale adaptive video streaming platforms
  • Cloud-assisted adaptive video streaming including encoding, transcoding, and adaptation in general
  • Attack scenarios and solutions for adaptive video streaming
  • Energy-efficient adaptive streaming for resource-constraint mobile devices
  • Reproducible research in adaptive video streaming: datasets, evaluation methods, benchmarking, standardization efforts, open source tools
  • Novel use cases and applications in the area of adaptive video streaming

The workshop is considered an integral part of the CoNEXT 2014 conference. All workshop papers will be published in the same set of proceedings as the main conference, and available on the ACM Digital Library. Publication at this workshop is not intended to preclude later publication of an extended version of the paper. At least one author of each accepted papers is expected to present his/her paper at the workshop.

Instructions for Authors

A submission must be no greater than 6 pages in length including all figures, tables, references, appendices, etc., and must be a PDF file of less than 10MB. The review process is single-blind.

Follow the same formatting guidelines as the CoNEXT conference, except VideoNext has a 6 page limit and a 10MB file size limit. See the “Formatting Guidelines” section. Submissions that deviate from these guidelines will be rejected without consideration.

Then use the paper submission site to submit your paper by 8:59 pm Pacific Standard Time (PDT), August 29, 2014.
Important dates
  • Paper Submission: August 2229, 2014 20:59 PDT
  • Notification of Acceptance: September 30, 2014
  • Camera-ready Papers Due: October 24, 2014
  • Workshop: December 2, 2014

TPC co-chairs
  • Mahbub Hassan, University of New South Wales, Australia
  • Ali C. Begen, Cisco Canada
  • Christian Timmerer, Alpen-Adria-Universit├Ąt Klagenfurt, Austria

Technical Program Committee
  • Alexander Raake, Deutsche Telecom Labs, Germany
  • Carsten Griwodz, University of Oslo/Simula, Sweden
  • Chao Chen, Qualcom, USA
  • Colin Perkins, University of Glasgow, Scotland
  • Constantine Dovrolis, Georgia Tech, USA
  • Grenville Armitage, Swinburne University of Technology, Australia
  • Imed Bouazizi, Samsung
  • Kuan-Ta Chen, Academia Sinica
  • Magda El Zarki, University of California Irvine, USA
  • Manzur Murshed, Federation University Australia, Australia
  • Pal Halvorsen, University of Oslo/Simula
  • Polychronis Koutsakis, Technical University of Crete, Greece
  • Roger Zimmerman, National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • Saverio Mascolo, University of Bari, Italy
  • Shervin Shirmohammadi ,University of Ottawa, Canada
  • Victor Leung, University of British Columbia, Canada

No comments: